History | Association for Women in Communications


The Celebrity Luncheon, held each year in April, originated in 1985 and is the original awards ceremony of its type in the Lubbock area. With the annual recognition of Headliners, Gold Medalists and the winner of the prestigious George Mahon Award, the Lubbock Chapter celebrates the positive contributions and achievements of those people who make Lubbock and West Texas a great place to live.

Proceeds from the Celebrity Luncheon support the Bea Zeeck AWC Scholarship for women studying mass communications at Texas Tech University as well as the professional development of members.

Headliner Awards are presented to people or groups of people whose achievements or contributions have received widespread positive recognition through the media.

Gold Medals are awarded to people who, over an extended period of time, have worked to improve the quality of life for a broad spectrum of those living in the Lubbock area.

The Louise Allen Award, established in 1991, is presented to an organization that has exhibited outstanding corporate community service. The award is named for Louise Allen, founder of the Lubbock Professional Chapter of Theta Sigma Phi (now Women in Communications).

Communicator of the Year is the highest award given to a member of the Lubbock Professional Chapter. Voted on by the members, this person is chosen for outstanding personal and professional achievement and support of the local chapter.

The George Mahon Award for Extraordinary Public Service, named in honor of Lubbock’s long-time U.S. Congressman, is presented only when AWC believes a person has dedicated his or her adult life to a broad array of public service efforts. Service must go beyond the demands of any job or office held by the recipient. The award is presented to an individual who “can’t say no” when asked to engage in public service and whose service consistently results in accomplishments.

Judges for Headliner, Louise Allen and Gold Medal Awards are the members of the Celebrity Luncheon Committee, and the names of those winners are announced prior to the luncheon.

Judges for the George Mahon Award are the current president and president-elect, the immediate past president and any member of the organization who may have won the award previously. These are the only people who will know the name of the George Mahon winner prior to the announcement made at the luncheon.

2014 – Emmy Award Winning Honor Flight Tribute by KCBD, Raider Red 2012 Capital One National Mascot of the Year, Eddie Smith, Texas Tech University Vision & Tradition Campaign

2013 – South Plains Honor Flight, Dr. Stephen Berk, Lubbock Lemonade Day, Kliff Kingsbury

2012 – All-Lubbock Marching Band, Buffalo Springs Lake Triathlon, Dr. Robert Salem, West Texas Home Builders Association, YWCA

2011 – Johnny Mac, Jeanne and Katrina Brown, Estacado High School: 2010 State Championship Basketball Team, Idalou High School: 2010 State Championship Football Team and 2011 State Championship Basketball Team, Seshadri “Ram” Ramkumar, PhD, Texas Tech University Libraries

2010 – Jana and Robert Barnhill, B.U.S.T. – Buckle Up Stop Texting Campaign, Sarah Jo Lambert, Lubbock Moonlight Musicals/Buddy! The Buddy Holly Story, Texas Tech University Meat Judging Program

2009 – Sally Kipyego, Texas Tech 2008 Football Team, Cactus Cuties, Lubbock Centennial Committee

2008 – Beth Ashmore, Lubbock Western All-Stars, FiberMax, Michael Crabtree

2014 – Calvin Davis, Mary Hatfield, Gail House, Diannah Tatum, Nick Parker

2013 – Tommy & Kay Davis, Helen McElwee, Dr. Bolanle Olaniran, Noe Brito, Melissa Grimes

2012 – Ron Betenbough, Dr. Linda Brice, Dr. Juan Fitz, Sharyn Ivory, Alice White

2011 – Dr. Doug Klepper and Terry Hawkins, Leslie and Mike Moss, Celeste Thompson, Irasema Velasquez

2010 – J.C. Chambers, Debbie and Don Curry, Don McInturff, Eddie Owens, David Seim

2009 – Bill and Peggy Dean, The Caldwell Family, Catherine (Cathy) S. Porter, Robert Narvaiz, Food 2 Kids

2008 – Shirley Garrison, Dr. John Thomas, Bobbie Gaither, Laurie Foster, Brenda and Joe Wilbanks

2014 – Cast Iron Grill

2013 – Hispanic Association of Women

2012 – Lubbock Downtown AMBUCS

2011 – Wentz Orthodontics

2010 – Lubbock Avalanche-Journal for Team Pinktober

2009 – City Bank Texas

2008 – Lubbock Chamber of Commerce

2007 – Parkhill, Smith and Cooper, Inc.

2006 – Breedlove Dehydrated Foods

2005 – Betenbough Charitable Foundation

2004 – New Day Window Cleaning Service

2003 – Wells Fargo Bank

2002 – American State Bank

2001 – Covenant Health System

2000 – 96.3 FM KLLL

1999 – Cox Communications

1998 – Target Good Neighbor Committee

1997 – The McDougal Companies

1996 – Texas Instruments

1995 – KJTV

1994 – Southwestern Bell Community Relations

1993 – United Supermarkets

1992 – Lubbock Avalanche-Journal

1991 – KCBD-TV

2014 – Byrnie and Sharon Bass

2013 – Dr. Robert & Betty Carr, and Dr. Brian Carr

2012 – Louise Hopkins Underwood

2011 – Linda Greenstreet

2010 – Margaret Talkington

2009 – Rev. Ted and Betty Dotts

2008 – Alvin Davis

2007 – Robert Ewalt

2006 – Marsha Sharp

2005 – T. J. Patterson

2004 – Joan Irvin

2003 – Shirley Madden

2002 – Doyle Gammill

2001 – Choc and Virginia Hutcheson

2000 – Preston Smith

1999 – Anita Bass

1998 – Carol McWhorter

1997 – Winifred Woods Vigness

1996 – Alan and Sandy Henry

1995 – Louise and David Cummins

1994 – Eadie Armstrong

1993 – Georgia Mae Ericson

1992 – Mary Nell and Jack Strong, Sr.

1991 – Carol Swain

1990 – Lou and Ray Diekemper

1989 – James and Louise Allen

1988 – Ethel McLeod

1987 – Betty Anderson

1986 – W. Curry and Frances M. Holden

1985 – George Mahon and Robert Nash

2014 – Michelle Stephens

2013 – Kaley Daniel

2012 – Jeanna Roach

2011 – Victoria Lovelady

2010 – Renée Underwood

2009 – Melissa Pierce

2008 – Shelly Gonzales

2007 – Sherry Saffle

2006 – Diane Harlan

2005 – Angela Beesley

2004 – Diane Harlan

2003 – Denise Garlington

2002 – Karen Brehm

2001 – Dr. Rhonda Gibson

2000 – Kelley Roach Pitts

1999 – Mary Ann Edwards

1998 – Mary Ann Edwards

1997 – Donna Giovannetti

1996 – Dr. Judy Oskam

1995 – Faye Nordyke Kennedy

1994 – Sherry Wood Saffle

1993 – Dawna Cowan Walls

1992 – Mary Ann Edwards

1991 – Tina Steffen

1990 – Patti Finley Douglass

1989 – Kathleen Davis

1988 – Debbie Hubbard

1987 – Beth Pratt

1986 – Nancy Sullivan

1985 – Beth Pratt