32nd Annual AWC Celebrity Luncheon Award Nominations

Posted on Jan 11, 2016 | Comments Off on 32nd Annual AWC Celebrity Luncheon Award Nominations

Celebrity Luncheon Award Descriptions

Headliner Awards:

Presented to people or groups of people whose achievements or contributions have received widespread positive recognition through the media.

Gold Medals:

Awarded to people who, over an extended period of time, have worked to improve the quality of life for a broad spectrum of those living in the Lubbock area.

The Louise Allen Award:

Established in 1991 and named in honor of the founder of the Lubbock Professional Chapter of AWC and journalism professor at Texas Tech, this award is presented to a business that has exhibited outstanding corporate community service.

The Mary Ann Edwards Professional Communicator Award:

This award recognizes an individual working in the communications industry whose attention to the creation, management, distribution and consumption of ideas and information will have made significant contributions to the disciplines and positively impacted the community.

The George Mahon Award for Extraordinary Public Service:

Named in honor of Lubbock’s long-time U.S. Congressman, this award is presented when AWC believes a person has dedicated his or her adult life to a broad array of public service efforts. Service must go beyond the demands of any job or office held by the recipient. The award is presented to an individual who can’t say “No” when asked to engage in public service and whose service consistently results in accomplishments.

Do you know a deserving person for one of these awards, please fill out our nomination form or email Marijane Wernsman at marijane.wernsman@ttu.edu with your nomination and a brief description of why you believe they should be considered. Deadline for submissions is 12 p.m. January 26.