2013 Student Scholarship Recipients

Posted on May 6, 2013 | Comments Off on 2013 Student Scholarship Recipients

By: Melissa Wofford

Katie Cook received a Bea Zeeck scholarship for 2013. She has been a member of the Texas Tech AWC chapter for one year and is majoring in public relations. Her dream job is public relations coordinator for the Texas Rangers. Katie excels in public speaking and believes her approachable personality helps her succeed as a communicator. She is from Bridgeport, Texas, and enjoys spending time with her friends and family and attending Kappa Delta events.

Janet Moreno received a 2013 Bea Zeeck scholarship in her first year at Texas Tech and as a member of AWC. Janet comes from Midland, Texas, and is majoring in journalism and political science. Janet’s ideal career is political news broadcast journalist. Her strengths include establishing strong personal and professional relationships. Janet enjoys horseback riding and playing golf in her spare time.

Lexi Phillips received a 2013 Bea Zeeck scholarship. She is a senior advertising major and business minor. Lexi is from Lubbock and has been a member of the Texas Tech AWC chapter for one year. When she is not in school, she enjoys working and renovating her new home. Lexi is a strong leader and loves to lead by example. Her ideal career would be running a successful business of her own.

Kayla Suarez received the 2013 Mary Faye Bonds Green Scholarship. She serves as the current president for the Texas Tech AWC Chapter and was the Community Service Chair last year. She is a public relations major from El Paso and though she hasn’t discovered what her ideal career would be, her writing and public speaking skills help her succeed in the classroom. Her hobbies include reading and listening to music.